Project Description

Jonathan Piazarolo
Trentino Cafés Especiais

Please tell us a little about yourself: 

My coffee story begins in 1994 as a producer in Santa Teresa, ES (72 km from Vitória) and expanded to include roasting for small regional markets in 1999. My first course was in 2001, improving upon all the work I had done until then, and reaching the specialty coffee market in 2004. This entire history elapsed on the farm, until in 2009 we opened the first coffee shop in downtown Santa Teresa. We added a micro-roastery in 2011 and began the Trentino Cafés Especiais brand. In January of 2018, we moved the operation to Vitória.

Please list the coffee competitions you have participated in, what year they took place, and your results:

2018 Brazilian Coffee Roasting Championship, 9th place

What are you excited to do while you are in Taipei?:

Train, cup, and use my free time to train more!

Which coffee-producing country most interests or excites you?:

When speaking of producing countries, especially because of the limited access we have to foreign coffees, it is not possible to over stress the work that our state has done, with distinct regions, aromas, nuances and post-harvest processes, each of them outstanding. Today Espírito Santo is complete.

What are your interests outside of coffee?:

Outside of the coffee universe, as we are in a coastal city, I stroll with my wife and children on the city’s beaches, I play foot-volleyball at dawn and take advantage of the waves. Espírito Santo offers these activities very close to regions that produce coffees that the entire world appreciates.

Where do you see yourself in 5 years?:

In five years, I hope to see a more stable market, with the Brazilian economy helping all links in the coffee value chain, and a critical mass at all of these links, conveying information and serving excellent cups.

Is there anyone you would like to thank or recognize, or who helped you to prepare for the competition?:

Naara Paletta (my wife), Vagner Benezath, Vagner Uliana, Clayton Barrossa Monteiro, Lima Deleon, Carlos Alberto Altoé, Edevaldo Costalonga, Fábio Nakasato, Diogo Cypriano.